Crashing New Year’s Eve 2015

Two days into this New Year for all, two days into the New Year’s Eve Crash of 2015 for me.  Michael and I were at the end of our NYE 2 hour 2×20 SST (sweet spot training) cooling down.  I did not see the man carrying a baby in the crosswalk in front of the Lodge;  Michael did.  He slowed down.  I did not.  I hit his wheel, and the next thing I remember is  opening my eyes to a strange man holding my neck in place.  (This man, I later found out, is an ER M.D. propitiously placed at the scene just for me.  Thank you, God!)  Apparently, my helmet clad head made contact with the road, followed by my face, shoulders, then down the rest of the left side of me.  Somewhere along the way my thumb hit hard enough to break the tip.  I don’t remember any of that – I was unconscious for a bit.  The EMTs come and cart me off to Mayo where they perform the requisite CT scans and x-rays, clean me off and staple the cut on my head (4 staples).  Thank goodness at that point in time I had no idea how horrific I look.  Michael did take pictures so I could later see what a mess I was.  He alerted friends and family, Leisha came with clothes and lunch for Michael, and Pop came for support.  Leisha and Pop brought us a car to drive home.  And about 4-5 hours after the doctor and nurses did what they needed to do to make sure I was okay to go home, exhausted, we do.

Highlights of the incident:

  1. Michael dislodging my foot from my handlebars and throwing my bike (I was not awake for this and at this point I still don’t know if IT’S okay);
  2. Michael very sternly telling someone to call 911 NOW (again not awake for this, but I hear he scared that person into it);
  3. A Beaches Velo rider taking care of our bikes for us (not awake for this – ironically the guy who took our bikes to the shop almost ran me off the road the prior Saturday);
  4. Again, the ER doctor who stabilized my neck until the EMTs arrived;
  5. Seeing my precious Michael (he’s really the star of the show here) spent and cold,  wrapped up in a blanket when I came back from x-ray;
  6. Our nurse, Jesse:  I have never felt such tender loving care from any health professional.  I thought she was going to hug me as we left!
  7. Coming home with Michael; nothing makes me feel more loved than his tender loving care of me!

Here is the picture from the day of the crash:

IMG_0010

Yeah, epic, right?

Here are more from the next day:

The bruised and broken thumb:

IMG_0011

The side view (with a slice of bum):

IMG_0012

Closer in on the shoulder ( and a bit more bum):

IMG_0013

Staple head:

IMG_0017

AND . . . . the face:

IMG_0018

Side story: My sister Amy scraped up her face and injured a wrist on Christmas Eve when she fell outside, so we’re now twinkies. She is one week ahead of me and said that her cuts are now mostly healed by keeping Neosporin on them.  I started with that but have now switched to lavender and frankincense essential oils mixed with equal parts coconut oil.  Here is how it looks today close up:

Yesterday I woke up with a VERY swollen face.  Today it’s a bit better!

What I am thankful for:

  1. My sweet Michael taking such good care of me;
  2. NOT having a brain or neck injury – I totally realize that my injuries could have been much more serious!
  3. Family who is there for me;
  4. LIFE.  It’s precious!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Debbie says:

    Oh goodness girl….Roy and I just saw this! You are so very blessed to be alive and definitely had Angels riding with you! Thank goodness for the quick response of everyone around too! Give a high five to Michael and hugs to Uncle David and Leisha for all their love and support! God love you girl…you are just so tiny!!!! You take care of yourself! We love you!

    1. Judi Cowart says:

      Yes, I am very blessed! to be alive, and to have such a wonderful husband and family, including both of you! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

