Uh uh uh ultra!?

How it all started was, this year was going to be the year of my first ironman distance tri.  Well, due to a scheduling snafu, that didn’t happen, so that will have to wait for another year.  Next year is the year of the ULTRA.

I have to preface this by saying that when I first met Michael one of the things I loved so much about him was that he was doing this 6 day, 148 mile stage race – so NOTHING that I do could ever be considered CRAZY by him : )  But my version of crazy was slightly different than his.  He is a racing/running /cycling machine.  He is focused on training to race, paying attention to his pace, PR’s, beating times, and tracking his mileage.

My focus has been markedly different and stems from a radio program I heard years ago (sometimes it the littlest things).  I was listening to Focus on the Family and an M.D. was on who said these words: “I can’t tell you how many people come in to my office and say ‘if i had know I was going to live this long I would have taken better care of myself.’ ”  That really stuck with me.  Modern medicine can keep a person – even a very sick person –  alive for quite a long time, but with what quality of life?  I want mine, as much as possible, to be active, healthy, and strong.  I try to take good care of myself, because I want to be able to continue to get up every day and DO something – run, swim, lift, MOVE.  I don’t want to be hindered by injury or disease.  I do things that help me along on that path.  Lifting (lots of lifting) to maintain muscle.  Cardio in the form of running, stair climbing, swimming, cycling, at least an hour a day.  That was working fine, but I also wanted to get leaner, and that program was not helping me accomplish that (okay, maybe my addiction to chocolate and peanut butter was part of the problem)  a girl’s gotta have her chocolate . . . . just sayin’.

So last year (2010) I got on board Michael’s crazy boat and started racing.  10 races in one year: 4 sprint triathlons, 1 5k, 2 1/2 marathons and 1/2 Ironman, a 10k, and my first marathon.  Mostly PR’s, took home hardware from most also.

 

It felt kinda good, especially because I never thought I was fast.  But even before a started racing I wanted to get faster, and read somewhere that to get faster you just need to GO faster.  So I tried to go faster, and it WORKED!!

So, 2010-11 were the years of firsts, and racing, and 2012 is to be the year of the Ultra.  That’s right, ultra, as in distances greater than 26.2.

So we have in our future a December marathon, a January 50k, a February 50 miler, a May 35 miler, and a June 148 mile 6 day stage race called Desert RATS.  So far : )

booyakah

Leave a Reply

