FINALLY!!

Better Late Than Never

ACT 10.17.10

act 2010logo

I love being a lawyer, I really do… really. But on days lik
e today when I am just brain-tired and have a mountain of work to do, some of which will actually make me money, what am I doing?! E

verything else but – obsessing on my favorite blog – www.joythebaker.com (check it out, people!) updating my training log, and thinking of what a lovely weekend ahead with my amazing, hot, fantastic boyfriend. Is that TMI for you? I make no apologies, just deal with it, (especially the jealous tri-list weenies)(that means YOU, Kurt!)

Anyway, the other thing I am doing (right now, actually) is a race report for my first half ironman distance tri – ACT – Atlantic Coast Triathlon.

We had reserved a room at a hotel about 100 yards from the start and transition area, a move that proved highly advantageous for a number of reasons:

Predawn Calm

#1 proximity to transition and start;

#2 proximity to the little swimmer’s room;

#3 the ability to set up our transition area then head back to the room to rest, get warm, and put on wetsuits, and rest some more before getting to the beach. It looks like proximity rules…

The weather was good – not to hot, not too cold (for me); and while the waves were not nonexistent, neither were they so intimidating as to make me dread the plunge. So, as it turns out, getting out past the breakers – not too bad; the actual swimming part, not so bad; navigating and trying not to get lost out there in the water – gotta work on that (after one ocean swim Michael said I looked like Billy from the Family Circus making his way home after getting off of the school bus); going from swimming to standing up and getting out of the water – much room for improvement there also. As I’m running toward the transition area, I hear my name, and who is behind me? Michael! Finishing just behind me…. . I was so glad to see him … So we ran to T1 together, and stopped to get our picture taken by the race photographer. Time? 38:17 T1 time – 3:24… yeah, I know! Don’t remind me!

Happy to be done with that!

HHHMMMM…. My transition times, I know, could use some serious trimming. I think the hardest part, and one thing I hadn’t really practiced, anticipated, or trained for was the getting OFF of the wetsuit. Well, yep, there I was, sitting on the ground, straining to get that dang thing off of my ankle. It was as if my ankle had swollen to epic proportions, and was hanging on to that thing for dear life! Finally I wrench it from my straining foot and head to the port-a-let, then onto my bike.

All I will say about the bike is that I felt good the whole time and averaged around 19… AND I must have snot-rocketed my body weight in fluid during the first half.

Time – 2:58:05 let’s not talk about the transition time.

good thing you can’t see the rockets

On to the run – hot and long, but fun all the same. Those Boy Scouts were so cute… handing out gels and drinks so diligently….. and SO PREPARED!! Amazing. Michael said he was going to come back and meet me to run the last few miles together, so I was looking for him and find him… at the start of the last mile or so sitting down at an aid station eating pizza and chatting it up with the volunteers. Apparently they thought he had given up and was just waiting for his hardcore girlfriend. A fact supported by the request for pizza. So he runs in with me, but goes steps aside as I am about to run across the finish line. Then I hear the announcer guy say my name over the loudspeaker, and “with her boyfriend Michael waiting to give her a big kiss.” And he did….. Now THAT’S the way to end a race! Time – 2:20:46 and thankfully…no transition. Halleluiah and amen.

And after all was said, done, swum, biked, and run, I had an amazing time and look forward to a few more, and longer, races in 2011.                                                     Final time – 6:05:05

The Hardware
Leave a Reply

