What a year!!

When I think about all that has happened this past year, I am astounded, and if I had to sum it up in one word (not easy for me) I would have to say it was a year of FIRSTS – first half marathon, first half Ironman; first century; first divorce; and the most astounding of all – the first time I have fallen in love. There are not enough words to describe this amazing relationship we have except to say that it is everything I could have ever hoped for, and so much more than I could ever have dreamed … We’re best friends, training partners, and have so much fun together… we would rather spend time with each other than with anyone else. I am so very thankful to have Michael in my life, and am looking forward to all of the fun adventures we are going to have in the coming year, and years.
So much has happened – moving my household (again), moving Michael’s household, moving my office to real office space, it’s been a whirlwind of activity, and although at times I wish life would slow down, I think that because it is by my own doing, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Life is to be lived, and we sure do pack a lot of living into every day – mission accomplished. If we can lay our heads down at night exhausted, having lived this one day to the fullest, there is a peace in that that I wouldn’t trade for anything.
As far as my training, I have always had the attitude that I just want to get up every day and do what I love to do, run, lift, swim, bike, or whatever. I have not traditionally done a lot of races because #1, the cost, #2 time: and and #3, the fact that a race can mess up perfectly good day f training. If I would just rather run for an hour and a half, why would I go do a 5k, or some other event? I can be done with my work out before the race even starts! So was my attitude. Now, because one of my goals for 2010 was to go faster and farther, I started doing more mileage, and just going faster – intervals, and tempo runs….. since I started training with Michael the distance is just there – one of the things that I love about him is that nothing I could ever do could ever be considered extreme by the man who ran 148 miles across the Utah desert for 6 days. I know, right?! Yikes!!!
Our schedule involves the possibility of three workouts a day – 5 a.m.; noonish.; and after work.
So this year, starting at the end of April, Michael and I started training together, and competed in several local races :

BFAST #1, #2, & #3, placing in all;
Jax Tri Series #3; placing 2nd
Big Bang 5k; 3rd woman over all
Swampman – my 1st Century
ACT – 1st Half Ironman – 2nd in AG
Jacksonville Half marathon –
Pumpkin Run 10 miler
Outback Half marathon – 1st 1/2 marathon

So after a year of so many firsts, where to go from here?
Following are races on the horizon for the coming year:

Donna – my 1st marathon
Ironhorse – 50 miler
Guana River 50k Trail Run
Gate River Run
Jetty-2-Jetty
BFAST Duathlon
Tour de Forts – our anniversary ride
Florida Challenge
MS 150
ACT – Atlantic Coast Triathlon Half
GFT – Great Floridian Full
Outback Half Marathon
Jax Marathon

SO, there you go…. The rest of this whole thing will be about what we do to get there, what we eat, and all the fun we have in between…….

Leave a Reply

